NADO Recognizes Excellence in Regional Transportation Award Winners

Posted on: May 4th, 2012 by Carrie Kissel

The NADO Research Foundation and RPO America have announced the 2012 Excellence in Regional Transportation Award-winning projects.  This is the sixth year that the program has honored projects for their innovation, effectiveness, and impact on communities throughout the nation.  The projects were recognized during a special networking reception at the 2012 National Rural Transportation Peer Learning Conference, which occurred April 25 – 27, in Burlington, Vermont.  This year, 18 projects from 10 states were recognized for their approaches to transportation planning and projects.  Read descriptions of all the projects in the awards booklet (PDF). For more information, visit or contact NADO Associate Director Carrie Kissel at 202.624.8829 or [email protected].


Coastal Regional Commission of Georgia, Transportation for Everyday Life

River Valley Regional Commission, More Pedal-Less Metal: Urban Bicycling Initiative

Southern Georgia Regional Commission, Planning for Freight in Small MPOs


East Central Iowa Council of Governments, Comprehensive Regional Development Strategy

Region XII Council of Governments, Region XII Bike-Ped Roundtable Trail Count Initiative


South Central Planning and Development Commission, South Central Safe Community Partnership


Northern Maine Development Commission, Aroostook Rail Preservation

Portland Area Comprehensive Transportation System and Greater Portland Council of Governments, 2009 PACTS Regional Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan

Southern Maine Regional Planning Commission, Traffic Incident Operating Guidelines


Southwest Regional Development Commission, Wind Development Agreements


Missouri Association of Councils of Government, MACOG Transportation Planners Group


South West Tennessee Development District, City of Parsons Downtown Enhancement


East Texas Council of Governments, Awareness Branding Campaign

East Texas Council of Governments, Regional Mobility Guide

Killeen-Temple Metropolitan Planning Organization and Central Texas Council of Governments, Copperas Cove Bypass Project


Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission, Rural Highway Department Management Program

Vermont Association of Planning and Development Agencies, Lessons Learned from Irene: RPC Involvement in the Recovery of Vermont’s Transportation Network


New River Valley Planning District Commission, Regional Bikeway, Walkway, Blueway Plan

This entry was posted in 2012 Awards, Awards Programs, Excellence in Regional Transportation Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.