2019 NADO Excellence in Regional Transportation Awards Announced

NADO, the NADO Research Foundation, and RPO America are pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Excellence in Regional Transportation Awards.  The awards program honors recognizes noteworthy projects and practices in rural, small metropolitan, and other regions that help meet regional needs through various program areas related to transportation, mobility, goods movement, planning and analysis, and more.  The 2019 award winners include:

  • Top of Alabama Regional Council of Governments (TARCOG), Connecting Communities – A DeKalb County Regional Trail Network (Alabama)
  • Central Florida Regional Planning Council, A Public Participation Plan for Heartland of Florida (Florida)
  • Emerald Coast Regional Council, Bay Town Trolley Post-Hurricane Transit Stop Inventory (Florida)
  • Emerald Coast Regional Council, Florida-Alabama Freight Advisory Working Group (Florida)
  • Northeast Florida Regional Council, Northeast Florida Regional Transit Working Group (Florida)
  • Southern Georgia Regional Co, Southern Georgia Region Transportation Sales Tax (Georgia)
  • Cumberland Valley Area Development District, City of Williamsburg, KY Bicycle and Pedestrian Master Plan (Kentucky)
  • KIPDA, KIPDA Regional Freight Mobility Study and Design Guide (Kentucky)
  • Northern Kentucky Area Development District, NKADD Elderly/Disabled Transportation Mobility Management Program (Kentucky)
  • Acadiana Planning Commission, Local Road Safety Plans (Louisiana)
  • Southwest Regional Development Commission, Langauages & Interpreter Services in Southwest Minnesota (Minnesota)
  • Mo-Kan Regional Council, Northwest Missouri Transportation Planning Partners Meeting (Missouri)
  • Mo-Kan Regional Council, Safety and Innovation Mobile Lab (Missouri)
  • Southwest Missouri Council of Governments, Low Water Crossing Inventories – Dade, Dallas, Polk Counties (Missouri)
  • Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission, Use of Logistic Model Concept in Future Land Use Allocation Methodology (Ohio)
  • Ohio Mid-Eastern Governments Association, Regional Coordinated Transportation Pilot Program (Ohio)
  • Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG), DETCOG Transportation Voucher Program (Texas)
  • New River Valley Regional Commission, Passenger Rail Station Ownership and Maintenance Strategy (Virginia)

Search NADO.org

Joe McKinney has served as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations since 2012. He previously served as the Executive Director of the Land of Sky Regional Council in Asheville, North Carolina from 2003 to 2012. Under his leadership, Land of Sky became recognized nationally for its innovation in program areas including planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, aging services, volunteer services, and geographic information systems. Joe has also held various other roles in city, county, association, and government management. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne