2012 Excellence in Regional Transportation Award

The NADO Research Foundation sponsors an annual award program to honor innovative and excellent approaches to regional transportation planning and program implementation. Congratulations to this year’s Excellence in Regional Transportation Award recipients!  Winners will be honored at the Awards Reception at NADO’s National Rural Transportation Conference, to be held in Washington, DC from August 24 – 26, 2011.  The reception will provide an opportunity for all conference attendees to learn more about the winning projects in an informal setting.  This year’s awards recipients are listed below. Click here for the descriptions of the award-winning projects, and recipients’ contact information (PDF).


  • River Valley Regional Commission, Rural Georgia Safe Routes to School Initiative


  • MIDAS Council of Governments, Rural Intelligent Transit Systems
  • Region XII Council of Governments, Regional Retro-reflectivity Compliance
  • Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission, Flint River Trail


  • Region Nine Development Commission, Mankato Area Transportation and Planning Study (MATAPS)


  • Mo-Kan Regional Council with Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Government and Green Hills Regional Planning Commission, Northwest Missouri Regional Road Safety Audit Program
  • Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Governments, Regional Sidewalk Assessment

North Carolina

  • Centralina Council of Governments, Lake Norman Regional Bicycle Plan (LNRBP)
  • Western Piedmont Council of Governments, Regional Transit Authority Development and Implementation


  • Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission, The Planning Framework for the Evacuation of the Transportation Needs Populations in Central Ohio


  • North Central Pennsylvania Regional Planning and Development Commission, Corridor Safety Analysis

South Carolina

  • Lower Savannah Council of Governments, Cross County Connection
  • Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments, Volunteer Transportation – Elderly and Individuals with Disabilities


  • Brazos Valley Council of Governments, The Brazos Valley Transportation Partnership


  • Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission, Woodstock Full Circle Electric Trolley


  • Roanoke Valley Alleghany Regional Commission, Roanoke Valley Greenways – Interactive Map

Search NADO.org

Joe McKinney has served as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations since 2012. He previously served as the Executive Director of the Land of Sky Regional Council in Asheville, North Carolina from 2003 to 2012. Under his leadership, Land of Sky became recognized nationally for its innovation in program areas including planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, aging services, volunteer services, and geographic information systems. Joe has also held various other roles in city, county, association, and government management. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne