2017 Excellence in Regional Transportation Awards Announced

Text set over image of rural road. Text says "Congratulations 2017 Excellence in Regional Transportation Awards"Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Excellence in Regional Transportation Awards!  These organizations will be recognized at a special roundtable reception during the 2017 National Regional Transportation Conference, occurring June 28 – 30 in Denver, Colorado.  The 2017 awardees include:

  • State Route 89 Mousehole Pedestrian and Bicycle Improvement Project, Nevada County Transportation Commission and Town of Truckee (California)
  • Strategic Planning for the Gulf to Gadsden Freight Logistics Zone, Apalachee Regional Planning Council (Florida)
  • Interactive Project Priorities and Long Range Transportation Plans, West Florida Regional Planning Council (Florida)
  • Using Transit to Support Economic Development and Tourism on an Island Resort, Coastal Regional Commission (Georgia)
  • Restoring Critical Transit Services in and Emergency Capacity, River Valley Regional Commission (Georgia)
  • River Valley Regional Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan 2016, River Valley Regional Commission (Georgia)
  • Smarter Travel Study, East Central Intergovernmental Association (Iowa)
  • CorridorRides, East Central Iowa Council of Governments (ECICOG) (Iowa)
  • Lakes Region Explorer Bus Service, Greater Portland Council of Governments (GPCOG) (Maine)
  • Great Falls AgriTech Park, Great Falls Development Authority (Montana)
  • Triangle Area Rural Planning Organization Bicycle & Pedestrian Planning Framework, Triangle J Council of Governments (North Carolina)
  • Partners in Planning, South Western Oklahoma Development Authority (Oklahoma)
  • Alamo Regional Rural Planning Organization (ARRPO) 10-20 Year Plan, Alamo Area Council of Governments (Texas)
  • RGV Driver Transit Academy, Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council: Valley Metro (Texas)
  • Regional Rural Transit Planning, South Plains Association of Governments (Texas)
  • Plainfield, VT – Village Bridges Alternatives Analysis, Central Vermont Regional Planning Commission (Vermont)
  • Construction of Municipal Trailheads and Wayfinding Signs for the Lamoille Valley Rail Trail in Vermont, Lamoille County Planning Commission (Vermont)
  • A to B Mobility Project – Transportation Coordination and Services in and around Southern Windsor County, Southern Windsor County Regional Planning Commission (Vermont)
  • 2016 Regional Active Transportation Plan, Benton-Franklin Council of Governments (Washington)



Search NADO.org

2023 Impact Awards

The primary applicant must be a NADO member. Project partners, both NADO and non-members, can be recognized under "Project Partners" below.

Primary Project Contact:
This person will be the designated point of contact for all future awards-related correspondence.

Organization Address

Project Location (if different from Organization Address)

Executive Director

Additional Organizational Information
Please upload your organization's logo which will be included on the winning project award certificate.

Project Information
This title will be printed on the award certificate for winning projects and in all 2022 NADO Impact Award materials and cannot be changed.

Project Summary & Questions
Please craft clear, thoughtful, and engaging responses to the following questions. Use the following sections to tell us how your project has made an impact, such as its use of creative funding mechanisms, efforts to create efficiencies or reduce costs, unique partnership models, and emphasis on building resilience and/or enhancing your region's quality of life.

For award-winning projects, the information provided below may be used verbatim to inform project descriptions that will be published in the 2023 NADO Impact Awards materials and included on the NADO website.

Please submit at least one photo showing your project in action. Please keep file size to a minimum (<2Mb) and use JPEG format. If uploading multiple files, ZIP files prior to submitting. If you have trouble uploading images they can be directly emailed to Brett Schwartz at [email protected] Include the project title they correspond to in the subject line of your email.

Note: Submitted photos may be used in NADO Impact Awards materials and in other NADO published materials with credit to your organization. Please also consider submitting photos for NADO's 2023 Photo Contest, which will be held this summer.

Your application is not submitted until you are directed to a confirmation page. If you have any questions or are unsure if your application has been submitted, please contact Brett Schwartz at [email protected]

Contact Melissa Levy

Contact Krishna Kunapareddy

Contact Andrew Coker

Contact Laura Gale

Contact Katie Allison

Contact Jack Morgan

Content Questions Form

Registration Questions Form

Hotel Questions Form

New Speaker Inquiry

Job Listing Inquiry

Joe McKinney serves as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations (NADO). Headquartered in Washington DC, NADO provides advocacy, education, research, and training for the nation’s 500+ regional planning and development organizations.

Joe has thirty-one years of experience having served in city, county, regional, national association, and government management since 1991. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is a candidate for a master’s degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

McKinney has provided congressional testimony on numerous occasions regarding the importance of regional development organizations in helping shape the nation’s economic growth. He is nationally recognized for promoting innovative solutions in areas such as planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, and aging services.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne