Tribes and Sustainable Development Workshop Materials

On July 26-27, 2012, NADO Research Foundation hosted a workshop with a small group of HUD Sustainable Communities Initiative grantees working in tribal communities. This workshop was designed to build the capacity of grantees working with tribal nations to develop strong planning and economic development strategies.

Click on the links below to download workshop presentations and other resources:

Agenda and Participant Information

Positioning Tribes as Economic Competitors

Developing Plans and Putting Them into Action: Bottom-Up Community Planning and Economic Development in Indian Country

Growing Entrepreneurs in the Green Economy

Communications Clinic: Articulating Your Goals and Developing Your Message

Raising Additional Funds and Navigating Legal and Financial Frameworks

Federal Resources Available for Indian Country

Turning Crisis into Opportunity

Opportunity Link also provided links to a web series and documentary that explores the success of coordinated public transportation in remote Northcentral Montana, available here.


Joe McKinney has served as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations since 2012. He previously served as the Executive Director of the Land of Sky Regional Council in Asheville, North Carolina from 2003 to 2012. Under his leadership, Land of Sky became recognized nationally for its innovation in program areas including planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, aging services, volunteer services, and geographic information systems. Joe has also held various other roles in city, county, association, and government management. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne