Post-Disaster Transformational Housing

Southwest Iowa Planning Council

Recovering from natural disasters can be especially difficult in low- and moderate-income communities because the event often exacerbates pre-existing problems. In Southwest Iowa, a devastating flood in 2019 not only left more than 100 homes uninhabitable, but also spotlighted the poor quality of the region’s housing stock that survived the storm unscathed. Like many rural communities across the country, residents there have long struggled with the cost of upkeep for aging homes and infrastructure. A disaster recovery strategy that merely replaced the homes too flooded to re-occupy would have been insufficient to meet the scale of the challenge that the community faced.

Enter the Southwest Iowa Planning Council (SWIPCO). As the floodwaters receded, SWIPCO staff took stock of the community’s needs and prepared a strategy that went beyond the acute need for replacement homes to address underlying challenges revealed by the storm. On behalf of the affected cities—including Glenwood, Hamburg, Logan, Malvern, Missouri Valley, Modale, Tabor, and Woodbine—SWIPCO applied for and was awarded grant funding of more than $90 million to address housing issues.

The funding, secured through the Iowa Economic Development Authority’s CDBG Disaster Recovery program, will address community needs by clearing 100 unsalvageable homes, constructing more than 250 new homes to replace them, and expanding water and sewer infrastructure. Residents displaced during the storm will be first in line for the new units, which are a mix of rental and owner-occupied, followed by other low- and moderate-income residents in the affected areas. The program represents both the largest grant ever executed by SWIPCO and the most significant investment in housing construction in the region in a generation.

By taking a comprehensive approach to disaster recovery rather than merely addressing immediate needs, this project will improve residents’ quality of life and the economic potential of the Southwest Iowa region for years to come. Community leaders have praised the program, crediting it with helping to avert further decline and restore confidence in the region’s economic vitality.  “When we needed help with residential buyouts and new housing development after the 2019 flooding, SWIPCO was there for us every step of the way,” said Hamburg City Clerk Sheryl Owen. “It’s been a long few years but seeing the money flowing toward these projects sure helps.”

These efforts complement the $7.9M in disaster construction funds allocated from the Denver EDA Regional Office to rebuild the levy that devastated the city of Hamburg during the 2019 flood. The levee now protects the entire town, including both residential and industrial areas, positioning the community for a more secure and prosperous future.   

This case study was written by Dion Thompson-Davoli, NADO RF Research Fellow


Contact Karron Grant

Applications cannot be saved and returned to at a later time. It is recommended you compile all of your information in advance in a word processor and cut and paste into the application below.

2023 Impact Awards

The primary applicant must be a NADO member. Project partners, both NADO and non-members, can be recognized under "Project Partners" below.

Primary Project Contact:
This person will be the designated point of contact for all future awards-related correspondence.

Organization Address

Project Location (if different from Organization Address)

Executive Director

Additional Organizational Information
Please upload your organization's logo which will be included on the winning project award certificate.

Project Information
This title will be printed on the award certificate for winning projects and in all 2022 NADO Impact Award materials and cannot be changed.

Project Summary & Questions
Please craft clear, thoughtful, and engaging responses to the following questions. Use the following sections to tell us how your project has made an impact, such as its use of creative funding mechanisms, efforts to create efficiencies or reduce costs, unique partnership models, and emphasis on building resilience and/or enhancing your region's quality of life.

For award-winning projects, the information provided below may be used verbatim to inform project descriptions that will be published in the 2023 NADO Impact Awards materials and included on the NADO website.

Please submit at least one photo showing your project in action. Please keep file size to a minimum (<2Mb) and use JPEG format. If uploading multiple files, ZIP files prior to submitting. If you have trouble uploading images they can be directly emailed to Brett Schwartz at [email protected]. Include the project title they correspond to in the subject line of your email.

Note: Submitted photos may be used in NADO Impact Awards materials and in other NADO published materials with credit to your organization. Please also consider submitting photos for NADO's 2023 Photo Contest, which will be held this summer.

Your application is not submitted until you are directed to a confirmation page. If you have any questions or are unsure if your application has been submitted, please contact Brett Schwartz at [email protected]

Contact Melissa Levy

Contact Krishna Kunapareddy

Contact Andrew Coker

Contact Lara Gale

Contact Katie Allison

Contact Jack Morgan

Content Questions Form

Registration Questions Form

Hotel Questions Form

New Speaker Inquiry

Job Listing Inquiry

Joe McKinney serves as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations (NADO). Headquartered in Washington DC, NADO provides advocacy, education, research, and training for the nation’s 500+ regional planning and development organizations.

Joe has thirty-one years of experience having served in city, county, regional, national association, and government management since 1991. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is a candidate for a master’s degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

McKinney has provided congressional testimony on numerous occasions regarding the importance of regional development organizations in helping shape the nation’s economic growth. He is nationally recognized for promoting innovative solutions in areas such as planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, and aging services.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne