Economic Development District Leadership Forum​

July 21-22, 2022

Kansas City Country Club Plaza

4445 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111

Registration Fees

Please note that while there is no fee to attend the forum, registration is required.  Please register before July 5, 2022.

You can register by clicking here or emailing [email protected].

Not a NADO Member?

Become one today to get the member discounted rate!

July 21-22, 2022

Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza

4445 Main Street Kansas City, MO 64111


About the Hotel

Relax in style at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza. Their modern, pet-friendly Kansas City hotel offers stylish rooms within walking distance to over 150 Country Club Plaza and Westport shops and restaurants. Recharge in spacious rooms and suites with plush bedding and productive workspaces. Whether you’re in the mood for a relaxing drink in the Greatroom or a hot cup of Starbucks® coffee, their onsite amenities fit the bill. Stay active with cardio equipment and free weights at the onsite gym. Experience the best of Kansas City with attractions like Country Club Plaza, Kauffman Stadium, Arrowhead Stadium, T-Mobile Center, and Power & Light nearby.

Room Rate

Room Rate: $123 + Tax (Single/Double)

Room Rate Deadline

June 27

Airports & Transit

Kansas City International Airport (MCI)

Airport Phone: +1 816-243-5237
Hotel direction: 23.1 miles S

This hotel does not provide shuttle service.

  • Alternate transportation: Classic Car Service 866-546-6490; reservation required
  • Estimated taxi fare: $65 (one way)

Driving Directions

Exit the airport onto I-29 South. Go approximately 18 miles and merge onto US-71 South. Follow US-71 South for approximately 4 miles. Take the exit for Emanuel Cleaver II blvd/Swope Parkway. Turn right on Emanuel Cleaver II Blvd. Go approximately 1.5 miles and turn right on Main Street. Proceed to 45th and Main Street. The Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza main entrance will be on the right immediately after crossing 45th Street.


  • On-site parking fee: $21 daily
  • Valet parking fee: $28  daily
  • Parking for 8 hours or less is $10 self parking; or $15 valet

Car Rentals

3412 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: +1 816-931-1039
1 East Pershing Road
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: +1 816-474-4970



The forum will be held July 21-22, 2022 immediately following the 2022 National Regional Transportation Conference (which is also a program of the NADO Research Foundation).

The Forum will officially begin at 10:45 a.m. on Thursday, July 21, with a joint session with the Regional Transportation Conference that will feature the KC Rising Partnership for inclusive programs.

Attendees may also participate in one of two sessions earlier that morning: Data for Regional Planning: Challenges, Opportunities, and Resources, or Positioning Your RDO/RPO for Future Opportunities.

Topics to be covered during the Forum will include positioning EDDs for success, organizational capacity building, strengthening economic resilience, fostering entrepreneurial ecosystems, data usage and more.

The Forum will conclude at 12:00 p.m. on Friday, July 22.  Time has been built into the agenda for peer-to-peer networking, including during a lunch on Thursday and a breakfast on Friday.


Joe McKinney has served as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations since 2012. He previously served as the Executive Director of the Land of Sky Regional Council in Asheville, North Carolina from 2003 to 2012. Under his leadership, Land of Sky became recognized nationally for its innovation in program areas including planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, aging services, volunteer services, and geographic information systems. Joe has also held various other roles in city, county, association, and government management. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne