Congratulations to the 2011 Innovation Award Winners

Congratulations to this year’s recipients of the NADO Innovation Award and the Excellence in Regional Transportation Award!

NADO’s Innovation Award honors projects in a variety of regional development program areas. The Excellence in Regional Transportation Award, a program of NADO’s RPO America and the NADO Research Foundation’s Center for Transportation Advancement and Regional Development, recognizes noteworthy projects and practices in rural and small metropolitan transportation planning, programming and service delivery.  This year’s award winners encompass a vast range of program areas, and demonstrate unique partnerships, creative thinking, and strategic leveraging of resources to deliver results.

The 2011 NADO Innovation Award winners will be honored at the Showcase Reception at NADO’s Annual Training Conference, to be held in Miami, Florida from October 8 – 11, 2011.  The 2011 NADO Excellence in Regional Transportation Award winners will be honored at the Awards Reception at NADO’s National Rural Transportation Conference, to be held in Washington, DC from August 24 – 26, 2011.  Plan to attend these events to learn more about the winning projects!


Joe McKinney has served as Executive Director of the National Association of Development Organizations since 2012. He previously served as the Executive Director of the Land of Sky Regional Council in Asheville, North Carolina from 2003 to 2012. Under his leadership, Land of Sky became recognized nationally for its innovation in program areas including planning and economic development, workforce development, transportation and transit, aging services, volunteer services, and geographic information systems. Joe has also held various other roles in city, county, association, and government management. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Policy Analysis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from UNC-Chapel Hill.

Contact Danny Tomares

Contact Dion Thompson-Davoli

Contact Ciara Ristig

Contact Bret Allphin

Contact Brett Schwartz

Contact Carrie Kissel

Contact Scott Brown

Contact Jamie McCormick

Contact Joe McKinney

Contact Krystal De Leon

Contact Brittany Salazar

Contact Laurie Thompson

Contact Mirielle Burgoyne