

June 17, 2025

The Honorable Susan Collins
Chair
Senate Committee on Appropriations
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Patty Murray
Vice Chair
Senate Committee on Appropriations
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Tom Cole Chair House Committee on Appropriations Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Ranking Member
House Committee on Appropriations
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chair Collins, Vice Chair Murray, Chair Cole, and Ranking Member DeLauro,

On behalf of communities across the country, the National Association of Development Organizations (NADO) urges you to strongly oppose the proposed elimination of all Federal Regional Commissions in the President's Fiscal Year (FY) 2026 Budget Request and to instead support robust funding at the authorized level for each commission in the FY 2026 appropriations process.

The federal regional commissions and authorities are congressionally chartered, federal-state partnerships that were developed to address economic distress in targeted geographic regions. As of February 2025, ten federal regional commissions have been authorized by Congress. Most recently, the Denali Commission, the Delta Regional Authority, the Great Lakes Authority, the Northern Border Regional Commission, the Northern Great Plains Regional Authority, the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission, and the Southwest Border Regional Commission were reauthorized in the *Thomas R. Carper Water Resources Development Act of 2024* with overwhelming bipartisan, bicameral support. Additionally, the Mid-Atlantic Regional Commission and the Southern New England Regional Commission were created in the aforementioned legislation.

The federal regional commissions are designed to promote economic development, infrastructure investment, and community resilience in specific, often underserved, regions of the United States. Each commission focuses on the distinct challenges and opportunities of its region, helping to reduce poverty, improve quality of life, and strengthen local economies. NADO urges Congress to support the following regional commissions and authorities:

Appalachian Regional Commission

- Delta Regional Authority
- Denali Commission
- Great Lakes Authority
- Mid-Atlantic Regional Commission
- Northern Border Regional Commission
- Northern Great Plains Regional Authority
- Southern New England Regional Commission
- Southeast Crescent Regional Commission
- Southwest Border Regional Commission

Sincerely,
Joe McKinney
Executive Director
The National Association of Development Organizations