

# USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2019 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

**ACTION NEEDED:** Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to fund programs under the Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Rural Development programs at fiscal year (FY) 2018 levels for the FY2019 Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies Appropriations measure.

**BACKGROUND:** USDA Rural Development operates many grant and loan programs important to rural communities and regions. These programs include grant funding and loan financing for water/wastewater projects, community facilities, broadband, and business development.

**LATEST ACTION**: Both House and Senate Appropriations committees have approved FY2019 funding for USDA. The agency is funded through the Agriculture spending bill; the measure has yet to be fully considered by both the House and Senate. Spending will need to be approved before the fiscal year begins on October 1.

On March 23, the president signed a \$1.2 trillion omnibus spending bill for FY2018 which funds federal operations through September 30, 2018. Before the bill's approval, the federal government had been operating under a series of continuing resolutions since the beginning of the current fiscal year.

On February 12, the Trump administration released its FY2019 budget proposal, "Efficient, Effective, Accountable: An American Budget." The budget requests \$465 billion for non-defense discretionary spending and \$627 for defense discretionary spending. The proposal includes over \$4 billion for USDA Rural Development.

The following table details final funding from FY2017 and FY2018 as well as the president's FY2019 budget request and House and Senate Appropriations Committee-approved FY2019 figures:

Budget figures are in millions	FY2017	FY2018	FY2019	FY2019	FY2019
	Final	Final	Request	House	Senate
Rural Housing Service	\$2,068	\$1,995	\$1,743	\$1,995	\$1,997
Rural Utilities Service Loans/Grants	\$673	\$661	\$123	\$743	\$662
Rural Business Cooperative Service	\$103	\$114	\$0	\$54	\$109

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115<sup>th</sup> Congress, see next page.

# **U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee**

# **Majority:**

Richard Shelby (R-MS)\*, Chairman

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)\*

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

Susan Collins (R-ME)\*

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Lindsey Graham (R-SC)

Roy Blunt (R-MO)\*

Jerry Moran (R-KS)\*

John Hoeven (R-ND) +

John Boozman (R-AR)

Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Steve Daines (R-MT)

John Kennedy (R-LA)

Marco Rubio (R-FL)\*

Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)\*

### Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)\*, Ranking Member

Patty Murray (D-WA)

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)\*

Richard Durbin (D-IL)

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)\*

Tom Udall (D-NM)\*

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

Jeff Merkley (D-OR) #

Chris Coons (D-DE)

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)\*

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

- + Indicates Chair of the U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee
- # Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee
- \* Indicates Senator serves on the
- U.S. Senate Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee

# **U.S. House Appropriations Committee**

#### Majority:

### Minority:

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)

Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)

José E. Serrano (D-NY)

David E. Price (D-NC)

Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Henry Cuellar (D-TX)

Mike Quigley (D-IL)

Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

Katherine Clark (D-MA)

Grace Meng (D-NY)

Mark Pocan (D-WI)\*

Pete Aguilar (D-CA)

Chellie Pingree (D-ME)\*

Tim Ryan (D-OH)

Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT)\*

Lucille Rovbal-Allard (D-CA)

Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) #

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member

Harold Rogers (R-KY)

Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) +

Kay Granger (R-TX)

Michael K. Simpson (R-ID)

John Abney Culberson (R-TX)

John R. Carter (R-TX)

Ken Calvert (R-CA)

Tom Cole (R-OK)

Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)

Charles W. Dent (R-PA)

Tom Graves (R-GA)

Kevin Yoder (R-KS)\*

Steve Womack (R-AR)

Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE) Tom Rooney (R-FL)\*

Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)

Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)

David Joyce (R-OH)

David Valadao (R-CA)\*

Andy Harris (R-MD)\*

Martha Roby (R-AL)

Mark Amodei (R-NV)

Chris Stewart (R-UT)

David Young (R-IA)\*

Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

Steven Palazzo (R-MS)\*

Dan Newhouse (R-WA)

John Molinaro (R-MI)

Scott Taylor (R-VA)

+ Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee

# Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee

\* Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee