

NORTHERN BORDER REGIONAL COMMISSION

SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2019 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

ACTION NEEDED: Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to support funding for the Northern Border Regional Commission's (NBRC) community and economic development programs for fiscal year (FY) 2019 at no less than the FY2018 congressionally approved level of \$15 million. NBRC resources are used for transportation and basic infrastructure, job skills training and entrepreneurial development, comprehensive strategy development, advanced technologies and telecommunications, and sustainable energy solutions in the most severely distressed portions of the Northeastern United States.

BACKGROUND: The Northern Border Regional Commission was first authorized in the 2008 Farm Bill (P.L. 110-627) to help address community and economic development needs within the northern portions of the four-state region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. This federal-state regional commission was established to leverage the public, private, and philanthropic resources needed to develop and sustain the community building blocks for economic competitiveness and development in the region. NBRC is composed of a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, along with the governors of each state in the region.

LATEST ACTION: On March 23, the president signed a \$1.2 trillion omnibus spending bill for FY2018 which funds federal operations through September 30, 2018. Before the bill's approval, the federal government had been operating under a series of continuing resolutions since the beginning of the current fiscal year.

On February 12, the Trump administration released its FY2019 budget proposal, "Efficient, Effective, Accountable: An American Budget." The budget requests \$465 billion for non-defense discretionary spending and \$627 for defense discretionary spending. The proposal includes elimination of NBRC with \$900,000 requested for orderly closure of the agency.

Following figures reflect FY2017 final, FY2018 final, and FY2019 budget request:

| Budget figures are in millions | FY2017 Final | FY2018 Final | FY2019 Request |
|-------------------------------------|--------------|--------------|----------------|
| Northern Border Regional Commission | \$10 | \$15 | \$.9 |

AREA COVERED: Portions of the four-state region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. NBRC counties include:

- Maine Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis,
 Somerset, Waldo, and Washington
- New Hampshire Carroll, Coos, Grafton, and Sullivan
- New York Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, Seneca, and St. Lawrence
- Vermont Caledonia, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Orleans

KEY TALKING POINTS:

- NBRC has made significant investments to aid local and regional economies in the four-state region. Per federal law, 50% of allocated funds must be spent in counties designated economically distressed. For 2018, 29 out of 36 counties were considered distressed based upon criteria including poverty level and unemployment rate.
- For 2017, NBRC awarded **37 projects totaling \$9,028,285 invested in the region**. **Almost \$29** million has been leveraged, a **1:3.2** ratio of award to leverage match.

For more information, please contact Josh Shumaker, Legislative Associate, at 202.624.8482 / jshumaker@nado.org.

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115th Congress, see below.

U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Thad Cochran (R-MS)*, Chairman

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)*

Richard Shelby (R-AL)*

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)*, Subcommittee Chair

Susan Collins (R-ME)*

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)*

Lindsey Graham (R-SC)*

Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Jerry Moran (R-KS)

John Hoeven (R-ND)*

John Boozman (R-AR)

Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Steve Daines (R-MT)

Marco Rubio (R-FL)

John Kennedy (R-LA)*

Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Ranking Member

Patty Murray (D-WA)*

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)*, Subcommittee Ranking

Member

Richard Durbin (D-IL)*

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)*

Tom Udall (D-NM)*

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)*

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*

Chris Coons (D-DE)*

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

*Indicates Senator serves on the U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

U.S. House Appropriations Committee

Majority: Minority:

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member Harold Rogers (R-KY)

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) #

Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)*

José E. Serrano (D-NY)*

Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT)

Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA)

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)*

David E. Price (D-NC)

Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Tim Ryan (D-OH)

Henry Cuellar (D-TX)

Mike Quigley (D-IL)

Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

Grace Meng (D-NY)

Mark Pocan (D-WI)

Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

Katherine Clark (D-MA)

Pete Aguilar (D-CA)*

Chellie Pingree (D-ME)

Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Harold Rogers (R-KY) Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) Kay Granger (R-TX)*

Michael K. Simpson (R-ID) + John Abney Culberson (R-TX)

John R. Carter (R-TX)

Ken Calvert (R-CA)*
Tom Cole (R-OK)

Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) Charles W. Dent (R-PA)

Tom Graves (R-GA) Kevin Yoder (R-KS) Steve Womack (R-AR)

Jeff Fortenberry (R-NÉ)* Tom Rooney (R-FL)

Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)*
Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)*

David Joyce (R-OH)* David Valadao (R-CA) Andy Harris (R-MD) Martha Roby (R-AL)

Mark Amodei (R-NV) Chris Stewart (R-UT)

David Young (R-IA) Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

Steven Palazzo (R-MS) Dan Newhouse (R-WA)*

John Moolenaar (R-MI) Scott Taylor (R-VA)

+Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

#Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

*Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee