

# **DELTA REGIONAL AUTHORITY** SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2018 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

**ACTION NEEDED:** Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to support funding for the Delta Regional Authority's (DRA) community and economic development programs for fiscal year (FY) 2018 at no less than the FY2017 congressionally-approved level of \$25 million. DRA resources are used for basic infrastructure improvements, job creation initiatives, leadership development, and other essential community and economic development investments in one of the most distressed regions of the nation.

**BACKGROUND:** The Delta Regional Authority is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership between federal, state, and local government. Established in 2000, DRA works to improve life for the 10 million people who reside in the 252 Delta counties and parishes in eight states (Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee). DRA is governed by the governors of the eight Delta states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.

The 252 counties and parishes served by the Delta Regional Authority make up one of the most distressed areas of the country. The disparities between the Delta region and the nation as a whole are stark. As defined by the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA), virtually all the counties and parishes in the region are distressed. The Delta region encompasses 111 of the 386 counties listed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) as suffering from "persistent poverty."

**LATEST ACTION:** Since the beginning of FY2018 on October 1, 2017, the federal government has been operating under a series of continuing resolutions, the latest of which expires on March 23, 2018.

The House approved an omnibus spending package for FY2018 in September 2017, but the Senate did not complete work on its FY2018 appropriations bills.

On February 12, 2018, the Trump administration released its FY2019 budget proposal, "Efficient, Effective, Accountable: An American Budget." The budget requests \$465 billion for non-defense discretionary spending and \$627 for defense discretionary spending. The proposal includes elimination of DRA and requests \$2.5 million for costs associated with orderly closure of the agency.

Following figures reflect FY2017 final, FY2018 House passed, FY2018 Senate recommended, and FY2019 budget request:

Budget figures are in millions	FY2017 Final	House FY2018	Senate FY2018	Pres FY2019
Delta Regional Authority	\$25	\$15	\$25	\$2.5

## **KEY TALKING POINTS**

- Since its creation, the Delta Regional Authority has worked to improve the lives of the 10 million people who live in the Delta. Targeted investments in each of the eight states have helped to create and retain 46,537 jobs.
- From FY2002 through FY2015, DRA has invested \$138 million into 934 projects in the Delta region leveraging \$752 million in other public funds and attracting \$2.2 billion in private-sector funds. Overall, DRA investments have helped to generate **\$2.9 billion in public and private investments**, an overall leverage ratio of **21.4 to 1**.

For more information, please contact Josh Shumaker, Legislative Associate, at 202.624.8482 / jshumaker@nado.org.

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115<sup>th</sup> Congress, see next page.

# **U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee**

## Majority:

Thad Cochran (R-MS)\*, Chairman Mitch McConnell (R-KY)\* Richard Shelby (R-AL)\* Lamar Alexander (R-TN)\*, Subcommittee Chairman Susan Collins (R-ME)\* Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)\* Lindsey Graham (R-SC)\* Roy Blunt (R-MO) Jerry Moran (R-KS) John Hoeven (R-ND)\* John Boozman (R-AR) Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) James Lankford (R-OK) Steve Daines (R-MT) Marco Rubio (R-FL) John Kennedy (R-LA)\*

# Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Ranking Member Patty Murray (D-WA)\* Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Subcommittee Ranking Member Richard Durbin (D-IL)\* Jack Reed (D-RI) Jon Tester (D-MT)\* Tom Udall (D-NM)\* Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)\* Jeff Merkley (D-OR)\* Chris Coons (D-DE)\* Brian Schatz (D-HI) Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) Chris Murphy (D-CT) Joe Manchin (D-WV) Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

\*Indicates Senator serves on the U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

## **U.S. House Appropriations Committee**

### Maiority:

Harold Rogers (R-KY) Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) Kay Granger (R-TX)\* Michael K. Simpson (R-ID) + John Abney Culberson (R-TX) John R. Carter (R-TX) Ken Calvert (R-CA)\* Tom Cole (R-OK) Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) Charles W. Dent (R-PA) Tom Graves (R-GA) Kevin Yoder (R-KS) Steve Womack (R-AR) Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)\* Tom Rooney (R-FL) Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)\* Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)\* David Joyce (R-OH)\* David Valadao (R-CA) Andy Harris (R-MD) Martha Roby (R-AL) Mark Amodei (R-NV) Chris Stewart (R-UT) David Young (R-IA) Evan Jenkins (R-WV) Steven Palazzo (R-MS) Dan Newhouse (R-WA)\* John Moolenaar (R-MI) Scott Taylor (R-VA)

## Minority:

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) # Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)\* José E. Serrano (D-NY)\* Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT) David E. Price (D-NC) Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA) Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) Barbara Lee (D-CA) Betty McCollum (D-MN) Tim Ryan (D-OH) C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD) Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)\* Henry Cuellar (D-TX) Chellie Pingree (D-ME) Mike Quigley (D-IL) Derek Kilmer (D-WA) Matt Cartwright (D-PA) Grace Meng (D-NY) Mark Pocan (D-WI) Katherine Clark (D-MA) Pete Aquilar (D-CA)\*

+Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

#Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

\*Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee