

DELTA REGIONAL AUTHORITY SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2018 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

ACTION NEEDED: Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to support funding for the Delta Regional Authority's (DRA) community and economic development programs for fiscal year (FY) 2018 at no less than the FY2017 congressionally approved level of \$25 million. DRA resources are used for basic infrastructure improvements, job creation initiatives, leadership development, and other essential community and economic development investments in one of the most distressed regions of the nation.

In May, Congress passed and President Trump signed into law an omnibus spending plan (the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2017) to fund the federal government through September 30, 2017.

On May 23, the President released the administration's FY2018 budget proposal, "A New Foundation for American Greatness." The budget recommends elimination of DRA and other regional commissions. The administration's budget calls for a reduction of \$54 billion from non-discretionary domestic funding while increasing defense spending by the same amount.

BACKGROUND: The Delta Regional Authority is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership between federal, state, and local government. Established in 2000, DRA works to improve life for the 10 million people who reside in the 252 Delta counties and parishes in eight states (Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee). DRA is governed by the governors of the eight Delta states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.

The 252 counties and parishes served by the Delta Regional Authority make up one of the most distressed areas of the country. The disparities between the Delta region and the nation as a whole are stark. As defined by the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA), virtually all the counties and parishes in the region are distressed. The Delta region encompasses 111 of the 386 counties listed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) as suffering from "persistent poverty."

LATEST ACTION: On September 8, President Trump signed a Continuing Resolution (CR) to fund the government at FY2017 spending levels through December 8. On September 14, the House passed an omnibus spending package funding all FY2018 appropriations bills.

In July, Congress acted on the FY2018 Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill which funds DRA. The House approved a 4-bill appropriations package that include the Energy and Water Development bill. It funds DRA at \$15 million, \$10 million below the FY2017 enacted level.

The Senate Appropriations Committee approved its version of the FY2018 Energy and Water Development spending bill before adjourning for the August recess. It includes \$25 million for DRA, level funding from FY2017.

KEY TALKING POINTS

- Since its creation, the Delta Regional Authority has worked to improve the lives of the 10 million people who live in the Delta. Targeted investments in each of the eight states have helped to create and retain 46,537 jobs.
- From FY2002 through FY2015, DRA has invested \$138 million into 934 projects in the Delta region leveraging \$752 million in other public funds and attracting \$2.2 billion in private-sector funds. Overall, DRA investments have helped to generate \$2.9 billion in public and private investments, an overall leverage ratio of 21.4 to 1.

For more information, please contact Josh Shumaker, Legislative Associate, at 202.624.8482 / jshumaker@nado.org.

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115th Congress, see below.

U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Thad Cochran (R-MS)*, Chairman

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)*

Richard Shelby (R-AL)*

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)*, Subcommittee Chairman

Susan Collins (R-ME)* Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)*

Lindsey Graham (R-SC)*

Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Jerry Moran (R-KS) John Hoeven (R-ND)*

John Boozman (R-AR)

Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Steve Daines (R-MT)

Marco Rubio (R-FL)

John Kennedy (R-LA)*

Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Ranking Member

Patty Murray (D-WA)*

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Subcommittee Ranking Member

Richard Durbin (D-IL)*

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)*

Tom Udall (D-NM)*

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)*

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*

Chris Coons (D-DE)*

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

*Indicates Senator serves on the

U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

U.S. House Appropriations Committee

Maiority: Minority:

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member

Harold Rogers (R-KY) Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) Kay Granger (R-TX)* Michael K. Simpson (R-ID) + John Abney Culberson (R-TX) John R. Carter (R-TX) Ken Calvert (R-CA)* Tom Cole (R-OK)

Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) Charles W. Dent (R-PA) Tim Ryan (D-OH)

Tom Graves (R-GA) C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD) Kevin Yoder (R-KS) Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)*

Steve Womack (R-AR) Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)* Tom Rooney (R-FL) Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)* Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)* David Joyce (R-OH)* David Valadao (R-CA)

Andy Harris (R-MD) Martha Roby (R-AL) Mark Amodei (R-NV) Chris Stewart (R-UT)

David Young (R-IA) Evan Jenkins (R-WV) Steven Palazzo (R-MS) Dan Newhouse (R-WA)* John Moolenaar (R-MI)

Scott Taylor (R-VA)

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) # Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)* José E. Serrano (D-NY)* Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT) David E. Price (D-NC) Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA) Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) Barbara Lee (D-CA) Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Henry Cuellar (D-TX) Chellie Pingree (D-ME) Mike Quigley (D-IL) Derek Kilmer (D-WA) Matt Cartwright (D-PA) Grace Meng (D-NY) Mark Pocan (D-WI) Katherine Clark (D-MA) Pete Aguilar (D-CA)*

+Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

#Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

*Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee