

USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2018 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

ACTION NEEDED: Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to fund the Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Rural Development programs at \$2.9 billion as part of a final fiscal year (FY) 2018 Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies Appropriations measure.

In May, Congress passed and President Trump signed into law an omnibus spending plan (the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2017) to fund the federal government through September 30, 2017.

On May 23, the President released the administration's FY2018 budget proposal, "A New Foundation for American Greatness." The budget recommends elimination of several USDA Rural Development programs including Water and Wastewater loans and grants and Rural Business and Cooperative Service discretionary programs. The administration's budget calls for a reduction of \$54 billion from non-discretionary domestic funding while increasing defense spending by the same amount.

BACKGROUND: USDA Rural Development operates many grant and loan programs important to rural communities and regions. These programs include grant funding and loan financing for water/wastewater projects, community facilities, broadband, and business development.

LATEST ACTION: In July, the House and Senate Appropriations committees passed their versions of FY2018 Agriculture spending bills for FY2018. Approved spending levels for each program are:

Program	FY17 Final	FY18 House	FY18 Senate
Rural Housing Service	\$2.06b	\$1.86b	\$1.97b
Rural Business Loan & Grants	\$65.3m	\$58.2m	\$64.3m
Intermediary Relending Program	\$9.9m	\$8.2m	\$8.8m
Rural Coop Dev Grants	\$26.5m	\$21m	\$26.5m
Rural Econ Infrastructure Grants	\$0	\$122.6m	\$0
Rural Utilities Service Loans/Grants	\$571m	\$472m	\$550m
Water and Waste Disposal Loans	\$1.25b	\$1.25b	\$1.25b
Broadband Loans and Grants	\$65.6m	\$4.5m	\$61.1m

For more information, please contact Susan Howard, Legislative Director, at 202.624.8590 / showard@nado.org.

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115th Congress, see below.

U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Thad Cochran (R-MS)*, Chairman

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)*

Richard Shelby (R-AL)

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

Susan Collins (R-ME)*

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Lindsev Graham (R-SC)

Roy Blunt (R-MO)* Jerry Moran (R-KS)*

John Hoeven (R-ND)*, Subcommittee Chair

John Boozman (R-AR)

Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Steve Daines (R-MT)

Marco Rubio (R-FL)*

John Kennedy (R-LA)

Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)*, Ranking Member

Patty Murray (D-WA)

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)*

Richard Durbin (D-IL)

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)*

Tom Udall (D-NM)*

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Subcommittee Ranking

Member

Chris Coons (D-DE)

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)*

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

*Indicates Senator serves on the

U.S. Senate Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee

U.S. House Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Minority:

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member

Harold Rogers (R-KY)

Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) +

Kay Granger (R-TX)

Michael K. Simpson (R-ID)

John Abney Culberson (R-TX)

John R. Carter (R-TX)

Ken Calvert (R-CA)

Tom Cole (R-OK)

Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)

Charles W. Dent (R-PA)

Tom Graves (R-GA)

Kevin Yoder (R-KS)*

Steve Womack (R-AR)

Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)

Tom Roonev (R-FL)*

Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN) Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)

David Jovce (R-OH)

David Valadao (R-CA)*

Andy Harris (R-MD)*

Martha Roby (R-AL)

Mark Amodei (R-NV)

Chris Stewart (R-UT)

David Young (R-IA)*

Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

Steven Palazzo (R-MS)*

Dan Newhouse (R-WA)

John Molinaro (R-MI)

Scott Taylor (R-VA)

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)

Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)

José E. Serrano (D-NY)

Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT)*

David E. Price (D-NC)

Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) #

Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Tim Ryan (D-OH)

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

Henry Cuellar (D-TX)

Chellie Pingree (D-ME)*

Mike Quialev (D-IL)

Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

Grace Meng (D-NY)

Mark Pocan (D-WI)*

Katherine Clark (D-MA)

Pete Aguilar (D-CA)

+Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee

#Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee

*Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee