

NORTHERN BORDER REGIONAL COMMISSION

SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2018 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

ACTION NEEDED: Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to support funding for the Northern Border Regional Commission's (NBRC) community and economic development programs for fiscal year (FY) 2018 at no less than the FY2017 congressionally approved level of \$10 million. NBRC resources are used for transportation and basic infrastructure, job skills training and entrepreneurial development, comprehensive strategy development, advanced technologies and telecommunications, and sustainable energy solutions in the most severely distressed portions of the Northeastern United States.

In May, Congress passed and President Trump signed into law an omnibus spending plan (the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2017) to fund the federal government through September 30, 2017.

On May 23, the President released the administration's FY2018 budget proposal, "A New Foundation for American Greatness." The budget recommends elimination of NBRC and other regional commissions. The administration's budget calls for a reduction of \$54 billion from non-discretionary domestic funding while increasing defense spending by the same amount.

BACKGROUND: The Northern Border Regional Commission was first authorized in the 2008 Farm Bill (P.L. 110-627) to help address community and economic development needs within the northern portions of the four-state region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. This federal-state regional commission was established to leverage the public, private, and philanthropic resources needed to develop and sustain the community building blocks for economic competitiveness and development in the region. NBRC is composed of a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, along with the governors of each state in the region.

AREA COVERED: Portions of the four-state region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. NBRC counties include:

- Maine Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis,
 Somerset, Waldo, and Washington
- New Hampshire Carroll, Coos, Grafton, and Sullivan
- New York Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, Seneca, and St. Lawrence
- Vermont Caledonia, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Orleans

LATEST ACTION: In July, Congress acted on the FY2018 Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill which funds NBRC. The House approved a 4-bill appropriations package that include the Energy and Water Development bill. It funds NBRC at \$5 million, \$5 million below the FY2017 enacted level.

The Senate Appropriations Committee approved its version of the FY2018 Energy and Water Development spending bill before adjourning for the August recess. It includes \$15 million for NBRC, \$5 million above the FY2017 enacted level.

KEY TALKING POINTS:

- NBRC has made significant investments to aid local and regional economies in the four-state region. Per federal law, 50% of allocated funds must be spent in counties designated economically distressed. In 2016, 29 out of 36 counties were considered distressed based upon criteria including poverty level and unemployment rate.
- From 2010 to 2016, NBRC awarded **119 projects totaling \$21,237,477 invested in the region. Over \$76 million has been leveraged, a 1:3.5 ratio to award match.**

For more information, please contact Josh Shumaker, Legislative Associate, at 202.624.8482 / jshumaker@nado.org.

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115th Congress, see below.

U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Thad Cochran (R-MS)*, Chairman

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)*

Richard Shelby (R-AL)*

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)*, Subcommittee Chair

Susan Collins (R-ME)*

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)*

Lindsey Graham (R-SC)*

Rov Blunt (R-MO)

Jerry Moran (R-KS)

John Hoeven (R-ND)*

John Boozman (R-AR)

Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Steve Daines (R-MT)

Marco Rubio (R-FL)

John Kennedy (R-LA)*

Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Ranking Member

Patty Murray (D-WA)*

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)*, Subcommittee Ranking

Member

Richard Durbin (D-IL)*

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)*

Tom Udall (D-NM)*

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)*

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*

Chris Coons (D-DE)*

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

*Indicates Senator serves on the U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

U.S. House Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member

Harold Rogers (R-KY) Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) Kay Granger (R-TX)*

Michael K. Simpson (R-ID) + John Abney Culberson (R-TX)

John R. Carter (R-TX) Ken Calvert (R-CA)*

Tom Cole (R-OK)

Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) Charles W. Dent (R-PA)

Tom Graves (R-GA) Kevin Yoder (R-KS)

Steve Womack (R-AR) Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)*

Tom Rooney (R-FL)

Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)* Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)*

David Joyce (R-OH)* David Valadao (R-CA) Andy Harris (R-MD)

Martha Roby (R-AL) Mark Amodei (R-NV)

Chris Stewart (R-UT)

David Young (R-IA) Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

Steven Palazzo (R-MS)

Dan Newhouse (R-WA)* John Moolenaar (R-MI)

Scott Taylor (R-VA)

Minority:

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) # Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)*

José E. Serrano (D-NY)*

Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT) David E. Price (D-NC) Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) Barbara Lee (D-CA) Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Tim Ryan (D-OH) C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)*

Henry Cuellar (D-TX) Chellie Pingree (D-ME) Mike Quigley (D-IL) Derek Kilmer (D-WA) Matt Cartwright (D-PA) Grace Meng (D-NY) Mark Pocan (D-WI) Katherine Clark (D-MA)

Pete Aguilar (D-CA)*

+Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

#Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

*Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee