

NORTHERN BORDER REGIONAL COMMISSION

SUPPORT FUNDING IN THE FY2017 APPROPRIATIONS PROCESS

ACTION NEEDED: Urge your members of Congress, especially those serving on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, to support funding for the Northern Border Regional Commission's (NBRC) community and economic development programs at the Senate approved level \$10 million in a final fiscal year (FY) 2017 Energy and Water Development Appropriations measure. NBRC resources are used for transportation and basic infrastructure, job skills training and entrepreneurial development, comprehensive strategy development, advanced technologies and telecommunications, and sustainable energy solutions in the most severely distressed portions of the Northeastern United States.

BACKGROUND: The Northern Border Regional Commission was first authorized in the 2008 Farm Bill (P.L. 110-627) to help address community and economic development needs within the northern portions of the four-state region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. This federal-state regional commission was established to leverage the public, private, and philanthropic resources needed to develop and sustain the community building blocks for economic competitiveness and development in the region. NBRC is composed of a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, along with the governors of each state in the region.

LATEST ACTION: Federal programs are currently operating at FY2016 levels under a Continuing Resolution that expires April 28. It is anticipated that Congress will approve a FY2017 omnibus appropriations bill after the incoming administration takes office, providing specific funding levels for agencies through October 1, 2017.

The House was unable to advance its FY2017 Energy and Water spending bill on May 26 when a vote on passage failed. The bill included \$5 million for NBRC. The Senate approved its FY2017 Energy and Water spending bill on May 12. The bill provides \$10 million for NBRC.

On February 9, 2016, the President released his FY2017 budget proposal which includes \$5 million for NBRC.

AREA COVERED: Portions of the four-state region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. NBRC ounties in these states include:

- Maine Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington
- New Hampshire Carroll, Coos, Grafton, and Sullivan
- New York Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, Seneca, and St. Lawrence
- Vermont Caledonia, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Orleans

For more information, please contact Josh Shumaker, Legislative Associate, at 202.624.8482 / jshumaker@nado.org.

For a list of members of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees for the 115th Congress, see reverse.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF DEVELOPMENT ORGANIZATIONS LEGISLATIVE FACT SHEET: NORTHERN BORDER REGIONAL COMMISSION

U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Thad Cochran (R-MS)*. Full Chair

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)*

Richard Shelby (R-AL)*

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)*, Subcommittee Chair

Susan Collins (R-ME)*

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)* Lindsey Graham (R-SC)*

Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Jerry Moran (R-KS)

John Hoeven (R-ND)*

John Boozman (R-AR)

Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

James Lankford (R-OK)

Steve Daines (R-MT)

Marco Rubio (R-FL)

John Kennedy (R-LA)*

Minority:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Vice Chairman

Patty Murray (D-WA)*

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)*, Ranking Member

Richard Durbin (D-IL)*

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)*

Tom Udall (D-NM)*

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)*

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*

Chris Coons (D-DE)*

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

*Indicates Senator serves on the U.S. Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

U.S. House Appropriations Committee

Majority:

Minority:

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chair Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Full Ranking

Harold Rogers (R-KY) Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL)

Kay Granger (R-TX)*

Michael K. Simpson (R-ID) + John Abney Culberson (R-TX)

John R. Carter (R-TX)

Ken Calvert (R-CA)* Tom Cole (R-OK)

Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)

Charles W. Dent (R-PA)

Tom Graves (R-GA)

Kevin Yoder (R-KS)

Steve Womack (R-AR) Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)*

Tom Rooney (R-FL)

Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)* Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)*

David Joyce (R-OH)*

David Valadao (R-CA) Andy Harris (R-MD)

Martha Roby (R-AL)

Mark Amodei (R-NV)

Chris Stewart (R-UT) David Young (R-IA)

Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

Steven Palazzo (R-MS)

Dan Newhouse (R-WA)* John Moolenaar (R-MI)

Scott Taylor (R-VA)

Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) #

Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN)*

José E. Serrano (D-NY)*

Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT)

David E. Price (D-NC)

Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA) Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA)

Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Betty McCollum (D-MN) Tim Ryan (D-OH)

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)*

Henry Cuellar (D-TX)

Chellie Pingree (D-ME)

Mike Quigley (D-IL)

Derek Kilmer (D-WA) Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

Grace Meng (D-NY)

Mark Pocan (D-WI)

Katherine Clark (D-MA)

Pete Aguilar (D-CA)*

+Indicates Chair of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

#Indicates Ranking Member of the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee

*Indicates Representative serves on the U.S. House Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee