



CONTACT: MATTHEW CHASE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • 202.624.7806 • MCHASE@NADO.ORG FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 21, 2012

U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) Recognized for National Economic Development Leadership

WASHINGTON, DC — U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) was presented with the National Association of Development Organization's (NADO) 2012 National Leadership Award today. Senator Klobuchar was selected based on her outstanding leadership and support of federal policies and programs that support regional and local economic development and job creation initiatives.

The award was presented by Jayme Trusty, NADO board member and Executive Director of the Southwest Regional Development Commission (Slayton, MN) during the association's Washington Policy Conference in Arlington, Virginia. Pat Henderson, Executive Director of the Arrowhead Regional Development Commission (Duluth, MN) and Nicole Griensewic, Executive Director of the Region Nine Development Commission (Mankato, MN) also represented the state's regional development commissions at the event.

"Senator Klobuchar has been a fierce advocate for economic development and job creation, including making the public investments needed to support vital industries in our state, such as agriculture, advanced manufacturing and renewable energy," Jayme said. "She has displayed an unwavering commitment to providing new economic opportunities for our nation's local communities, including small urban and rural regions of Minnesota, and understands that federal programs, such as the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) play a vital role in providing the seed capital or gap financing that is often necessary to spark new private investments in rural areas."

Jayme continued, "Along with Republican Senator Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, she is the primary author of S. 625, a bill to ensure local elected officials and local communities are given a stronger voice in the investment of federal transportation resources. She understands that transportation is an essential building block for economic development."

The NADO National Leadership Award is presented annually to a member of Congress who has made significant contributions in promoting regional economic development and job creation initiatives throughout small town and rural America. Previous winners include U.S. Senators James Inhofe (R-OK), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), and Ben Cardin (D-MD) and U.S. Representatives Jo Ann Emerson (R-MO), Mike McIntyre (D-NC), Harold Rogers (R-KY), and Tim Walz (D-MN).

The National Association of Development Organizations (NADO) promotes regional strategies, partnerships, and solutions to advance the economic and community development of America's local communities.