U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker Addresses NADO 2015 WPC Attendees; Announces NADO/NACo Innovation Challenge Winners

Posted on: March 27th, 2015 by NADO Admin

The Honorable Penny Pritzker, the 38th Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce, Pritzker w-exec committee 2015addressed attendees of NADO’s 2015 Washington Policy Conference on March 25.  This marks the first time a sitting U.S. Secretary of Commerce has addressed the NADO membership.  In her remarks, Secretary Pritzker stressed the value of the partnership between NADO and the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) in helping regions grow their economies.  As Secretary Pritzker remarked, “The partnership between EDA and NADO turns economic hardship into economic opportunity and prosperity.  Together, we can build resilient regional economies that are equipped to thrive in a changing global marketplace.”  The full text of Secretary Pritzker’s remarks can be viewed here.

In her remarks, Secretary Pritzker announced the first round of EDA funded winners in the Innovation Challenge competition.  This competition, hosted by NADO and the National Association of Counties, will provide cross-sector teams led by local officials and regional development organizations with intensive, hands-on training designed to strengthen and diversify their regional economies.  The selected teams include the following NADO members:

  • Big Sandy Area Development District (KY)
  • Cumberland Valley Area Development District (KY)
  • FIVCO Area Development District (KY)
  • Kentucky River Area Development District (KY)
  • Center for Rural Development (KY)
  • LENOWISCO Planning District Commission (VA)

Teams led by Moffat County (CO) and Reconnecting McDowell, Inc. (WV) were also selected.  Click here (http://www NULL.naco NULL.org/programs/csd/Pages/Innovation-Challenge NULL.aspx) to read more about the Innovation Challenge.

This entry was posted in Latest News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.