Senate Appoints Farm Bill Conferees; NADO Weighs in on Rural Development Title

Posted on: August 2nd, 2013 by NADO Admin

This week the Senate appointed conference committee members to negotiate an agreement on the farm bill (H.R. 2642). The appointees are Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Thad Cochran (R-MI), Max Baucus (D-MT), Michael Bennet (D-CO), ) John Boozman (R-AR), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Tom Harkin (D-IA), John Hoeven (R-ND), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), and Pat Roberts (R-KS). The House has not named conference members. The current Farm Bill extension expires September 30, 2013. NADO has joined a coalition of other organizations in writing to the House and Senate Agriculture Committee leadership in support of a robust Rural Development title and in support of the Senate farm bill’s mandatory funding levels for the Rural Microentrepreneur Assistance Program, the Water/Wastewater Backlog, and Value Added Producer Grants. Click here to view a copy of the letter.


This entry was posted in Latest News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.