Congressional Partnership Awards


16CPA Example

About the Awards Program

Created in 2000, this biennial awards component of the Washington Policy Conference, the NADO Congressional Partnership Awards Program, is a valuable tool for recognizing Members of Congress who exhibit outstanding leadership and support of federal regional development programs. Nominations may be submitted by individual member organizations or by state associations of regional development organizations.

Presentations are typically made by NADO members during Capitol Hill visits at the Washington Policy Conference or during events and meetings in the congressional district or state.

About the Nomination Process 

The 2016 nomination period is now closed.  Click here to view NADO’s 2016 Congressional Partnership Award recipients.

Criteria for Award Selection

Nominees will be evaluated based on their support of NADO policies and priorities in addition to cooperation with regional development organizations in their district or state. Award winners will announced in NADO News prior to the Washington Policy Conference. NADO members make award presentations to selected lawmakers during Capitol Hill visits during the Washington Policy Conference or during meetings in the congressional district or state. Limit of one award per Member of Congress.

Award Cost

A $150 fee will be charged to the nominating organization for each award winner. If more than one NADO member nominates a winner, the cost may be divided among the nominating organizations. The fee covers the actual cost of the award. NADO will also provide materials to help promote the award to the media and local constituents, including a press release and background information about the award.

For More Information

Contact NADO Legislative Director Susan Howard at 202.624.8590 or [email protected]