House and Senate Name Conferees for Surface Transportation Reauthorization Bill

Posted on: November 13th, 2015 by NADO Admin

The House and Senate have both voted to go to conference on a multi-year highway and transit bill.  The House approved its version of the bill, the Surface Transportation Reauthorization and Reform Act, last week while the Senate approved its bill, the Developing a Reliable and Innovative Vision for the Economy (DRIVE) Act, in July.

The House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee has named the following conferees (more are expected to be named from other committees): Brian Babin (R-TX), Lou Barletta (R-PA), Corrine Brown (D-FL), Michael Capuano (D-MA), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Rick Crawford (R-AL), Elijah Cummings (D-MD)   Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Jeff Denham (R-CA), Jimmy Duncan (R-TN), Blake Farenthold (R-TX), Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Garret Graves (R-LA), Sam Graves (R-MO), Crescent Hardy (R-NV), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), John Katko (R-NY), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Daniel Lipinksi (D-IL), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Scott Perry (R-PA), Reid Ribble (R-WI), Bill Shuster (R-PA), Albio Sires (D-NJ), and Rob Woodall (R-GA).

The Senate named conferees are: John Barrasso (R-WY), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), John Cornyn (R-TX), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Chuck Schumer (R-NY), John Thune (R-SD), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

The current extension of surface transportation programs expires on November 20.  Congress may have to pass another extension if conferees are unable to finalize a deal before that date.

This entry was posted in Latest News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.