2011 NADO Regional Sustainable Forum

Posted on: July 22nd, 2011 by Matthew Chase

On July 25, 2011, the NADO Research Foundation is sponsoring a peer exchange, 2011 Regional Sustainable Development Forum: Building Resilient Regions, at the office of the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) in Kansas City, Missouri.


Welcome, Event Overview and Participant Introductions

  • Matthew Chase, Executive Director, NADO and the NADO Research Foundation
  • Shelley Poticha, Director for Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • David Warm, Executive Director, Mid America Regional Council

Setting the Stage for New Regional Sustainable Economic Development Strategies:  A View from the Federal Partnership for Sustainable Communities

  • Overview of new and upcoming federal interagency partnerships and initiatives
  • Opportunities for expanded intergovernmental partnerships at regional level

Networking Luncheon

Regional Council Participant Presentations and Roundtable Discussion

  • Each regional council participant will give a 5-minute presentation about their organization’s approach to regional sustainability planning and development, including strategies for moving economic development practice and policy toward sustainability.  This includes improving regional coordination and integration of federal resources for community and economic development, housing, land use planning, transportation and workforce development.
Leveraging and Integrating Federal Planning Frameworks to Build Resilient Regions:  Regional Strategies, Partnerships and Solutions for Economic Growth and Prosperity
  • Group discussion on the lessons learned from regional planning and development practitioners, including policy, program and leadership options for creating stronger collaboration and leveraging of federal planning and development resources for moving economic development practice, program and policy toward sustainability.  This includes HUD’s Regional Sustainability Planning Grants, EDA’s Economic Development District CEDS, DOT’s Metropolitan Planning Organizations (and Rural Transportation Planning Organizations) and other related federal planning programs.

Final Recommendations and Discussion on Next Steps



Tim Brennan, Executive Director*

Pioneer Valley Planning Commission

Springfield, Massachusetts


Eric Bridges, Executive Director

North Central Pennsylvania RPDC

Ridgway, Pennsylvania


Robert Clark, Executive Director*

Northern Maine Development Commission

Caribou, Maine


Matthew Dolge, Executive Director!

Piedmont Triad Regional Council

Winston-Salem-Greensboro, North Carolina


Steve Etcher, Executive Director

Boonslick Regional Planning Commission

Warrenton, Missouri

[email protected]


Peter Gregory, Executive Director

Two-Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission

Woodstock, Vermont


Cheryal Lee Hills, Executive Director*

Region Five Development Commission

Staples, Minnesota


Betty Huskins, Director

North Carolina Association of Regional Councils

Beth Jones, Executive Director

Southeast Tennessee Development District

Chattanooga, Tennessee

Mike McKeever, Executive Director*

Sacramento Area Council of Governments

Sacramento, California


Betty Voights, Executive Director*          

Capital Area Council of Governments

Austin, Texas


David Warm, Executive Director*

Mid-America Regional Council

Kansas City, Missouri


Lyle Wray, Executive Director*

Capital Regional Council of Governments

Hartford, Connecticut


* HUD Regional Sustainable Planning Grantee

! Partner with HUD Regional Sustainable Planning Grantee


NADO Staff

Matthew Chase, Executive Director [email protected]

Deborah Cox, Director of Government Relations and Legislative Affairs |[email protected]

Carrie Kissel, Senior Program Manager [email protected]

Jennifer Walsh, Associate Legislative Director [email protected]



Kevin Adderly, Transportation Specialist

FHWA-National Systems and Economic Development Team

Washington, D.C.


Patty Clark, State Director

USDA Rural Development – Kansas


Matthew Dalbey, Director,

Federal and State Division

EPA Office of Sustainable Communities

Washington, D.C.


Janie Dunning, State Director

USDA Rural Development – Missouri


John Elias, Policy Analyst

Office of the Secretary

U.S. Department of Transportation

Washington, D.C.


Salin Geevarghese, Senior Policy Advisor

Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Dev.

Washington, D.C.

Guadalupe Herrera, Sustainability Officer

Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Dev.

Washington, D.C.

Tom Guevara, Deputy Assistant Secretary

for Regional Affairs

U.S. Economic Development Administration

Washington, D.C.

Doug McKalip, Senior Policy Advisor

for Rural Affairs

Domestic Policy Council

The White House

Washington, D.C.


Doug O’Brien, Senior Policy Advisor

Office of the Secretary

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Washington, D.C.


Shelley Poticha, Director

Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Dev.

Washington, D.C.


Joni Roeseler

Planning and Program Development Team Leader Federal Transit Administration (Region VII)

Kansas City, Missouri



Chuck Fluharty, President/CEO

Rural Policy Research Institute

Columbia, Missouri


Wayne Fawbush, Program Officer

Ford Foundation

* Event was sponsored by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) under a cooperative agreement with the NADO Research Foundation’s Center for Transportation Advancement and Regional Development.

This entry was posted in Featured Resources, Housing and Urban Development, Peer Exchanges, Presentations, Regional Economic Development, Sustainable Communities, Training, Training, Transportation Policy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.